Book Review: The Sin Collector

This is my first time reviewing a book from NetGalley and I am so excited to be able to share with you one of the books I just finished. Thank you to NetGalley and AmazonCrossing for the opportunity to read this book.

Author: Daria Desombre
To be published on:  October 24, 2017
Page Count: 331
Stars: 4/5
Recommended to: Crime Mystery fans, fans of fiction.

The description was the thing that first caught my eye. I absolutely love the history of Russia, I think my love of it spawned from when I first started watching the movie Anastasia as a little girl.

The Sin Collector is a dark novel that follows the story of a girl, Masha, as she follows in her father’s footsteps. She is obsessed with serial killers and has made it her thesis. Due to connections she has with a family friend she begins to work with a detective, Andrey, and stumbles upon the case he is working that seems to fit her own thesis she has been working on. Together, along with some friends, they discover the killer in a turn of events that will leave the reader stunned.

When first reading the novel, I did find it confusing that it switched between three different perspectives. First Vera, then Masha, and then Andrey. In the beginning I didn’t feel much of a connection between any of them because of how fast they were changing.

That soon changed when I got to the third and fourth chapter. I found myself engaged in the story, wondering who the murderer was and wanting to see if Andrey and Masha would get along. Desombre did eventually add other perspectives later on in the novel, so if you do pick up this book be aware that the perspectives do change a lot.

I did think that the romance between Andrey and Masha seemed sudden, I almost wished that it had been sprinkled throughout the story more. I felt like they just jumped at each other, when I wasn’t expecting romance in this book.

Regardless of this, I really found this book to be fantastic. I am so glad that I had the chance to read it and will be on the lookout for more novels by Daria Desombre. I will definitely be picking it up as a gift for a reader who I know loves mystery.

*Photo from NetGalley.com*

One thought on “Book Review: The Sin Collector

Leave a Reply

